Fish In Oil (Serbia)

Babel Camp Main Stage - july 19. monday 21:00

Serbian band Fish in Oil plays original instrumental music,ed with a bit of blues, rock and roll, surf, folk, free-jazz, film-music atmosphere, at the same time avoiding to be classified under any of these genres.

Their music is an accurate reflection of the time and the region where it comes from: an intriguing mixture of the Western and Eastern cosmology, fusion of history and contemporary life.

Since 2012 the band has released 3 albums and a double CD (Polustrovo – Peninsula, Drnch, Tri ključa’ – Three keys, Sve ce biti u najboljem redu)

All the band members have a rich and extensive musical career, having played in different bands, projects and with musicians from all over the world.

Guitarist Bratislav Radovanović composes the music for Fish in Oil, as well as the nine-piece orchestra, Tusta I Tma, and as film scores.

Saxophone player Dušan Petrović is leader of Menson Benson sextet, Coxless Pair, and has shared the stage with Bugge Wesseltoft, Erik Truffaz, Patrick Müller, Laurent de Wilde, Nicolas Conte, Shri, etc.

Double-bass and bass player Branislav Radojković is leader and music composer of Naked and is active in the Belgrade music scene.

From the late 80’s through the 90’s, drummer Tom Fedja Franklin played with the Headley Joseph Quartet, London Fusion Orchestra, Pyramid, Akwaaba People, Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra, Pail Saints, D’ Influence, Celloman, Art Franklin Quartet, Motherland, Naked, Smoke City, KV5, Maxi Jazz, John Babtist, House Band at the Orange Club, Arooga, Lord Erik, Julian Jose.

Percussionist Papa Nik (Veljko Nikolić) has played with almost every important Serbian musician, such as pianist Miloš Petrović and Lala Kovačev. He is also a leader of The Institute group, which for the last 40 years has performed improvisational music, often with handmade instruments. He is also a member of the early music ensamble Reinessance.

  • Bratislav Radovanović - Guitar
  • Fedja Franklin - Drum
  • Branislav Radojković - Double bass
  • Dušan Petrović - Saxophone
  • Aleksandar Radojičić - Percussion